I wasn’t expecting that

Today, a friend sent me a song she believed I’d love. She was right. The song has been on repeat since i heard it. It is Wasn’t expecting that by Jamie Lawson

I decided to channel one of the greatest romantic tragedies of my life to write something like it. I hope you like it.

And do check out the song at the end of the post.

No one was supposed to respond to that tweet

You were incredibly sweet

I wasn’t expecting that

Feelings got bigger than I wanted

I have a boyfriend, you said

I wasn’t expecting that

When i finally blurted out i love you

You said you loved me too

I wasn’t expecting that

You loved him even though you weren’t happy

And you wanted the man you ended up with to be like me

I wasn’t expecting that

No one I couldn’t have had, brought me this much joy

Not even those i had had in my life

You turned a man into a love-eyed boy

Who wanted this girl to eventually be his wife

I wasn’t expecting that

You broke up with him

The lights in your eyes went dim

I wasn’t expecting that

I wanted to be with you

You weren’t sure that was something you could do

I wasn’t expecting that

We weren’t together

But the love you gave me was better

I wasn’t expecting that 

I was insecure everyday

My fights pushed you away

I wasn’t expecting that

No one I couldn’t have had brought me so much joy

Not even those i had had in my life

You turned a man into a boy

Who wanted this girl to eventually be his wife

I wasn’t expecting that

But that was too late 

You had lost faith

I wasnt expecting that

Till you came back to me

And i thought what we wanted could be

I wasn’t expecting that

You looked me deep in the eye

And said that was bye

I wasn’t expecting that

Drop Your Comment...

